The Foundation series is a science fiction series of books by legendary author Isaac Asimov. Based in a fictional Galactic Empire, Trantor, a mathematician predicts the future of mankind, including the collapse of the Empire. While those in power are unwilling to accept their coming demise, the mathematician devises a plan to save essential pieces of civilization so that future generations can rebuild. For nearly 30 years, the series was a trilogy–Foundation, Foundation and Empire, Second Foundation. It won the one-time Hugo Award for “Best All-Time Series” in 1966. Asimov began adding to the series–which covers a span of about 550 years–in 1981, with it ultimately consisting of seven volumes that are closely linked to each other, although they can be read in any order. The Foundation book series was also made into a TV show, premiering on Apple TV+ in September 2021.

The order that Isaac Asimov suggests the books be read in is in chronological order, which is different than the publication order:

Prelude to Foundation
Forward the Foundation
Foundation and Empire
Second Foundation
Foundation’s Edge
Foundation and Earth

Showing 1–12 of 18 results

Scroll to Top